published on

GoreMagala (10241611)

Title: Reddit CEO Tells User Banning Hate Speech is Too Hard; Reddit Bans User For Posting Conversation

Reason: User Banned (Duration Pending): Trolling, tone policing victims of bigotry and hate, repeatedly posting thinly veiled defenses of bigotry and hate.

Why not? I want to thank you for actually taking some time to respond to me, and I want to have a conversation with you if that’s okay. Can I ask that you reiterate your first statement? I find it difficult to understand what you’re saying. Are you saying that such people would hardly ever do nothing to you and those that look like you, and as such you should also do the same by not doing nothing? To that I have a few comments. As I stated, I can emphasize with you and see your reasoning, that they wouldn’t be kind to you and as such you have no reason to be kind to them. That’s perfectly fine and I can understand that, fighting fire with fire or having people earn your kindness and such. I just personally disagree with it and don’t think that’s the way to go, I feel it just promotes a cyclical and perpetual cycle of hatred on everyone’s part. Also, generally, though I do not doubt that they most certainly might have a lot against you and perhaps might even hate you, I do doubt the notion that they would be able to physically hurt or do anything to you without suffering criminal/civil consequences from a legal perspective. The second part was quite clever, but once again I apologize since I can’t realky understand what you are trying to say. If the Devil in this case is a metaphor for all those evil people, then yeah I can agree that generally there is a reason why the Devil is looked at with such disdain and why he would need help. I’m not arguing that the Devil isn’t evil, but rather that the notion of evil being completely evil seems a bit far fetched to me. I would say that the Devil has some positive characteristics (such as being good at persuasion), or that he at least has a purpose and reason for being out and about in the wild. After all, the Devil needs approval by God before doing anything and as such his wrongdoing is not without a greater purpose. If he was to just disappear entirely and all that was left was good, good would just become neutral and the norm since there would be nothing to compare it to. So I guess the Devil needs help because he is at risk at becoming nonexistent (or rather perhaps he’d still be there but everyone would just kind of try to eliminate the value of anything he might do, because once again I disagree that evil is something that inherently lacks any value), and from my perspective I believe more harm can come from that than by just tolerating his existence and purpose. This was all a bit of an elaborate metaphor on my part but I hope you can understand the point I’m trying to make. But once again I appreciate you for having a response that I can discuss and for proposing your own argument and reasons for your beliefs. How is it trash? Could you elaborate? It’s fine if you think that’s the case but I would like to know why. In any case, once again, it’s fine if you think that that is trash, but someone reached out to me in DMs and spoke about how my words resonated with them and how they appreciated someone providing a reasonable dissenting opinion and going against the grain, so I will continue to do so in the hope that others can also feel impacted and inspired to do the same.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/posts/10241611/

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180711035052/https://www.resetera.com/threads/reddit-ceo-tells-user-banning-hate-speech-is-too-hard-reddit-bans-user-for-posting-conversation.54413/page-3

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/2nAq0